Confessions of a MOMY (Mother of Many Young Siblings)

I spent a lovely evening visiting with some nice ladies last Friday, when I was caught off guard by a comment from one of my friends; a young mother with 2 young boys.
“I would love to be a fly on your wall and see how you run your days,” she stated, simply.
ME?! I fought the urge to turn around to see who she was really talking to.

The reason this was such a shocker to me, is that I always considered myself to be the “mentee” (is that even a word?)–ever gleaning knowledge from those who have gone before me. I need to be the fly on the wall, I need to see how others run their days- others who have been on this journey longer than I, who, in my eyes, seem to have this “thing” figured out. (“Thing” being Christian motherhood and wife-hood, home schooling, quiverfull, etc.) Everytime I look around, I see others who seem to be light years ahead of me in this journey.

In reality, I know, that no one will ever have “things” figured out. In reality, I am probably exactly in the same spot (well, maybe not exactly, but you know what I mean) they were at one point. I just haven’t looked back to see from where I have come. I don’t want to! I want to look ahead and look forward to what God has in store for me, what He has to teach me and show me. But the comment from my friend forced me to look back, and in doing so I see how much gratitude is owed to my Creator. He has brought me out of the miry pit and has guided me along this path in His arms, and I love and thank Him for all He has done! He is the reason any of us on this journey or any are able to trudge on ahead, day after day, because He has a purpose for us! But mostly, He loves us and wants the best for us!

That being said, lest anyone fall under the false belief that I am perfect (ha ha, as much as my pride would LOVE for you to think that! πŸ˜‰ ), I have a few confessions to make:

  • I am not perfect (there’s a shocker)
  • My children are not perfect
  • Nor are they geniuses (well, I’m biased, so to me they are)
  • They do disobey
  • I have been known to raise my voice (read: YELL) at them, and the dog, and shamefully, my husband. :-$
  • Sometimes we eat cereal for meals other than breakfast.
  • More often than not, my children sleep in their clothes.
  • I have bounced checks.
  • I have missed tithe payments.
  • I have used the t.v. as a “babysitter”.
  • I have let a diaper stay on a little too long.
  • My kids don’t take baths everyday, although that is my goal.
  • We sometimes skip school for no other reason than “I am too tired to deal with this today!”
  • I am not as organized as some people seem to think.
  • Nor am I as patient as some seem to think.
  • I drink coffee when I am pregnant and nursing, and that more than I should. 8-0
  • I am on the computer more than I should be.
  • Although I try, I do not have my quiet time every day.
  • This is nowhere near the end, or even middle, of my list.

Now of course, this is by no means an exhaustive list. I could go on and on and on….and on…but who wants to sit and harp over everything that is wrong with me? I would much rather think on Jesus and the fact that He has made me a new creature in Him, that I belong to Him and am precious to Him. I can hand over this list to Him and trust in the fact that He is not finished with me yet.

Yes, there is hope for me yet!

One Response

  1. Awwww… what a sweet post. I appreciate your being so real and honest. I look around at other Christian mommies and feel very inadequate. I’m not confident in my own abilities as a mom yet and tend to feel that everyone has it more figured out than I do. πŸ™‚ I know in my head that I’m responsible before God alone for what I do (and don’t do), but I worry way too much about what everyone else thinks. Thank you again for your “confessions”. πŸ™‚ You still sound like a fantastic Mommy to me! Enjoying your blog.

    ~michelle

Leave a Reply

